top of page
Search
  • Anniken Blokkhus

Major projcet 12/5/21

Wow I can't belive I'm already at the last week. So the hand in is on the 14th May, but since the offical hand in is on the 21st I can hand it then as well if i need to. I'm having a photo shoot tomorrow so as long as i get my photos before the time on the 14th i will hand in then.


These last two week has been all about the decoration and making the kokoshnik.


Kokoshnik is a traditional Russian headress used a lot during Imperial Russia. It's a type of tiara and also the type of tiara Anastasia wears in the movie for teh design I've addapted.

I wen't in for a tutorial with Wayne to get a good picture of how to make it as I've never made a kokoshnik before and this was my first time.

I had already traced out a pattern i wanted to use and it was all about material and how to construct it.

I used buckram, rigeline, millenery wire, elastics, a sheet full of rhinestones and some fabric for the back.

It was a fun project to do and i learnt a lot! I broke quit a few needles sewing the rigeline to the buckram so I would deffinetly be more careful next time!



Some progress photos of the kokoshnik! It was a lot of fun to make!


I also completly finished my cabochons broches form my shash and my bodice.



Here are some progress pictures of the cabochon making! I've never made or worked with cabochon and bead embridery so this was something fun to learn! My white and gold cabochone broche turned out the best ast the beads on the blue and white ended up being a bit bumpy, but I learnt so much!


My costume is heavly decorated with rhinestones and embroidery appliques. As of today the costume have around 2000 thinestones glued to it by hand one and one. I love the look of it even though my back is trying to kill me!



I've learnt so much this last unit and its been a fun experience making one of my dream gowns of all time! I'm planing on writing a reflective post as well so look out for that!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page